Emerging out of the darkness

I am feeling much brighter tonight.  The symptoms lifted this afternoon and I am once again able to type, talk on the phone and listen to the radio and music.  What a wonderful release.  It really is like coming out of a dark place and emerging into the sunshine.  I can’t wholly explain it but my brain shuts down and I am enclosed inside myself to a large extent, only aware of all the strange sensations in my brain and body.  I can only remember being ill and can only foresee illness in the future.  This is in spite of knowing that it will pass.  These episodes really affect my memory.  I  was at the dentist on Tuesday and coped well.  Now I have little recollection of it.  I don’t think it is dementia. I certainly hope not.  It is all tied up with benzodiazepine withdrawal.

This entry was posted in Benzodiazepine withdrawal syndrome. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emerging out of the darkness

  1. indigobluehair@gmail.com says:

    Fiona,

    Your description of how it feels in a wave is the TRUTH. It is so strange. The short term memory is exactly the same. I am glad you are in the brightness, 😊

    Like

  2. fhfrench says:

    Hi Audrey. It is always good to hear that others have similar experiences. It is reassuring. Hope you have a manageable day. Hugs. Fiona xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

