Wet and windy day

It is really blustery outside and there is frost on the ground.  Of course I am nice and snug in my bed as usual.  I have had a few good days without that awful feeling of being unwell.  Brain is very active. Have been reading more research papers on the issue of antidepressant prescribing.  I can hardly campaign about it if I don’t know what I am talking about.  Anyway, it would seem that there has been little to no increase in diagnosed depression in primary care so that does not explain the increase in prescribing.  It seems that more patients are taking the tablets for longer and that is where the increase comes from.  Now, the question is whether this is because they can’t get off the tablets or is it for some other reason.  I will keep looking for more research studies.  There are plenty of personal accounts by patients of problems with antidepressants but the researcher in me would like to find more robust evidence of the scale of the problem.  It is maybe not surprising that I can’t sleep.  I  was up all night again but I am sure this nocturnal phase will pass just like it did before.

This entry was posted in Benzodiazepine withdrawal syndrome. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wet and windy day

  1. Rae Paterson says:

    What a fascinating research project that would make. You need a sponsor. Don’t suppose the drug companies would come to that party !!!!

    Like

  2. fhfrench says:

    Hi Rae. Here I am up in the middle of the night as usual. It is a fascinating subject. As a former researcher it is right up my street. As a sufferer the subject makes me very angry. I am sitting here composing an email and I have the email addresses of every MSP in Scotland!!!!! I wonder if any of them will pay any attention. I have uploaded a series of papers onto my campaign website. Look under CEP papers. Have I told you about my campaign website. Here it is. http://www.actionpddwordpress.org Comments/feedback are very welcome. Love Fiona xx

    Like

  3. Rae Paterson says:

    Thank goodness for your computer and something to occupy your mind in the middle of the night. There is nothing worse than tossing and turning in bed. The members of parliament are there to represent the people. You can afford to be tough on them. I hope you get some response. Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

