Another GP visit

I decided to make an appointment with a different GP in my practice to see if he would be willing to discuss the brain damage I have sustained.  He was pleasant enough when I went in.  Asked what I wanted.  I said I wanted an acknowledgement of what had happened to my brain and a discussion of the brain damage I have sustained.  He said he had heard about me from my own GP over coffee and did not want to get involved.  I appreciated his honesty.  He also said he could not comment on something that happened four years ago.  Amazing how many doctors cannot muster up an opinion.  I have to laugh. When I worked with the medical profession they were so full of their opinions … whether they knew what they were talking about or not.  Now the silence is deafening.  And so four years have passed and I still have to meet a doctor who will discuss the fact that I have brain damage.  This is totally unacceptable, I don’t care which way you look at it.   By the time I left the consulting room the GP looked deeply unhappy, so much so that I felt quite sorry for him.  After all, none of this is his fault.

Today I phoned an ophthalmologist who works outside the NHS.  A friend who is also severely damaged recommended him.  He asked me what was wrong so I told him I had damaged GABA receptors on the nerve cells after withdrawing from nitrazepam but of course I cannot find a doctor to acknowledge this.  He said that is no surprise, you won’t find anyone.  He was very nice.  I have an ophthalmology appointment here in Aberdeen on Monday but if that is not satisfactory I will travel some distance to consult with this other ophthalmologist even if it is just to talk to someone who is willing to talk to me.

I went to the GP surgery again today for a routine blood test.  I am managing fine now on my own in a taxi with my walking frame.  I feel very weak and unwell but otherwise it is okay.  I read a leaflet about patient data being used for research.  I now wonder what sort of results you can get from research data when the real reasons for symptoms are concealed.  I wonder what sort of diagnosis is being documented for me.  It certainly won’t be the correct one.  What a complete farce.

 

This entry was posted in Benzodiazepine withdrawal syndrome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

